Wednesday, November 12, 2014

Our new interns!

2014-2015 Isis Rising Interns



BECKY
Intern
I have my bachelor's degree in Sociology with a minor in Women's Studies from Hamline University.  I have been working for Hennepin County Juvenile Probation for the past 15 years.  I currently conduct Rule 25 chemical dependency evaluations and carry a small case load of juveniles who are struggling with substance abuse.  I have just started my second year in the University of St. Thomas/St. Catherine's University dual Masters in Social Work program.  My work with juveniles (primarily from single mother families) has made me passionate about equal treatment for women, whether they are incarcerated or not.  I also feel my experience as a single mother for the last 14 years allows for me to be more emphatic to other women in similar circumstances.  I am very excited to be able to work with Isis Rising and pass on the curriculum they have developed!




TRISH
Intern
Trish began her career organizing for women-focused issues in 2000, and has since worked on electoral and issue campaigns in more than 25 states across the country. Currently she is working on her Master in Social Work at St. Catherine's University, is a certified hatha yoga and prenatal yoga teacher, and is also a trained birth doula. Trish believes that everyone deserves a world that values them and allows the opportunity to fully thrive and grow. For women, this must include the right to all information, services, and support available on the reproductive health spectrum. It is especially powerful when these are passed along by women supporting other women at critical times such as birth.



BROOKE
Intern
I am currently pursuing a graduate degree in social work at the University of St. Thomas/St. Catherine University.  I have professional experience working within the correctional system and public health, and for the past 5 ½ years I have been working within the realm of family law.  From my experience, both personally and professionally, I feel compelled to provide support and education to women and children in vulnerable circumstances, and I feel very grateful to be doing so with the women of Isis Rising. 



MEGAN
Intern

I am currently attending Metropolitan State University for my Bachelor's degree in Criminal Justice and will be graduating in Spring 2015; I transferred there from North Hennepin Community College where I received Associate's degrees in Criminal Justice and Liberal Arts. I plan to go back to school for a Master's degree in Social Work in the near future. In my free time I like to spend time with my family, boyfriend, friends, and two corgis (Hoover and Monty); I also do a lot of volunteer work in my spare time. Most recently, I have volunteered with the Minneapolis Bait Car Program, Minneapolis Police Activities League (PAL) which does work with at-risk youth, and CornerHouse inter-agency child abuse evaluation center. I hope to use my knowledge of the criminal justice system to work towards making it a more effective system while also helping those under the supervision of it.

1 comment: